Right to Manage

Our Right to Manage Expertise

The Right to Manage a predominantly residential block of flats was introduced by the Commonhold & Leasehold Reform Act 2002. It gives leaseholders a right to take over the management of their property and to control how it is run.

Chambers is well-known for its expertise in Property Law and Landlord & Tenant law, including all matters relating to the Right to Manage.

Tanfield can advise on the formation or structure of a Right to Manage Company and the statutory procedure for acquiring the right. It can also help with disputes arising once an RTM Company has taken over the management. Cases can become complex and barristers at Tanfield stand out for their practical expertise and solutions. Tanfield can also provide specialist guidance on associated issues such as Leasehold Enfranchisement & Lease Extensions, Disrepair, Dilapidations, Service Charges and Building Developments & Construction.

Members of Tanfield are recognised as experts in this field throughout the leasehold industry and are regularly invited to speak at national events including those organised by Leasehold Advisory Service (LEASE) and the Association of Leasehold Enfranchisement Practitioners (ALEP). Tanfield also organises its own conferences including the annual Service Charge & Management Conference.

Tanfield produces the well-respected “Service Charges & Management”, published by Sweet & Maxwell, which is one of the leading textbooks on the Right to Manage.

Our Right to Manage Clients

Tanfield’s clients include leading specialist property law firms, landlords, tenants, local authorities and other institutional landlords, property managers and surveyors.

Our Right to Manage Barristers

Philip Rainey KC

Call 1990 Silk 2010

Christopher Heather KC

Call 1995 Silk 2017

Timothy Polli KC

Call 1997 Silk 2018

Nicholas Isaac KC

Call 1993 Silk 2019

Mark Loveday

Call 1986

Michael Buckpitt

Call 1988

Robert Bowker

Call 1995

Piers Harrison

Call 1997

Daniel Dovar

Call 1997

James Fieldsend

Call 1997

Nicola Muir

Call 1998

Adrian Carr

Call 1999

Carl Fain

Call 2001

Tim Hammond

Call 2003

Sam Madge-Wyld

Call 2008

Richard Alford

Call 2011

Katie Gray

Call 2013

Robyn Cunningham

Call 2014

James Castle

Call 2015