Leasehold Enfranchisement & Lease Extensions

"pre-eminence in the area of a leasehold enfranchisement"

Legal 500 2018

Our Leasehold Enfranchisement & Lease Extensions Expertise

One of the leading chambers for leasehold enfranchisement and lease extensions.

The Leasehold Reform Act 1967 gives leaseholders of houses a right to acquire the freehold of their house or extend their lease. The Leasehold Reform, Housing and Urban Development Act 1993 allows leaseholders of flats either to collectively acquire their freehold or to extend their lease.

Tanfield is recognised as a leading set for Leasehold Enfranchisement & Lease Extension work and is widely regarded as the “go-to” set for this area of work.

Members of Tanfield have appeared in many of the significant Leasehold Enfranchisement & Lease Extension cases and have won awards for their achievements in this area. As well as providing expert advice and representation in complex enfranchisement claims, Tanfield’s barristers are regularly asked to speak at industry-wide leasehold conferences, write for leading publications and to contribute to the debate on reform of enfranchisement law.

Tanfield can assist with advice on whether a house, flat or block qualifies for enfranchisement, problems with the  implementation of the statutory procedure and any dispute which arises out of the process.

Many of Tanfield’s members are members of the Association of Leasehold Enfranchisement Practitioners (ALEP).

Our Leasehold Enfranchisement & Lease Extensions Clients

Tanfield’s clients include leading specialist property law firms,surveyors, landlords, tenants and managing agents.

Our Leasehold Enfranchisement & Lease Extensions Barristers

Philip Rainey KC

Call 1990 Silk 2010

Christopher Heather KC

Call 1995 Silk 2017

Timothy Polli KC

Call 1997 Silk 2018

Nicholas Isaac KC

Call 1993 Silk 2019

Mark Loveday

Call 1986

Michael Buckpitt

Call 1988

Stan Gallagher

Call 1994

Robert Bowker

Call 1995

Piers Harrison

Call 1997

Daniel Dovar

Call 1997

James Fieldsend

Call 1997

Nicola Muir

Call 1998

Adrian Carr

Call 1999

Carl Fain

Call 2001

Tim Hammond

Call 2003

Sam Madge-Wyld

Call 2008

Christy Burzio

Call 2010

Richard Alford

Call 2011

Katie Gray

Call 2013

Robyn Cunningham

Call 2014

Chloe Sheridan

Call 2015

James Castle

Call 2015