Boundary Disputes

Our Boundary Disputes Expertise

Boundary disputes arise when neighbouring owners cannot agree where the boundary between their respective properties lie. Uncertainty over the location of the boundary can give rise to disputes as to ownership, rights of way, duties of repair or who is entitled to use the land. Disputes can easily become costly and emotive.

Members of Tanfield are well-known for their work in relation to Boundary Disputes and for delivering the very highest levels of advice and advocacy in this area. Its barristers provide clear, practical and creative solutions to all disputes between neighbours, both in relation to residential and commercial property.

Tanfield’s standing as one of the leading Property Law chambers ensures clients have access to barristers leading the way in this field. This includes specialist expertise in the linked disciplines of Easements, Party Walls, Adverse Possession, Co-ownership Disputes, Nuisance, Conveyancing, Freehold Covenants, Rights of Way, Property Damage and Land Registration.

Our Boundary Disputes Clients

Tanfield has an enviable reputation for Real Property work. Tanfield’s clients include both large and small landowners, landlords and tenants, as well as property developers, commercial organisations, leading Real Property law firms and Local Authorities.

Our Boundary Disputes Barristers

Iain G Mitchell KC

Call 1976 Silk 1992 (Scotland)

Christopher Heather KC

Call 1995 Silk 2017

Andrew Butler KC

Call 1993 Silk 2018

Timothy Polli KC

Call 1997 Silk 2018

Nicholas Isaac KC

Call 1993 Silk 2019

Charles Joseph

Call 1980

Michael Bailey

Call 1986

Mark Loveday

Call 1986

Michael Buckpitt

Call 1988

Chris Maynard

Call 1988

Robert Bowker

Call 1995

Piers Harrison

Call 1997

Daniel Dovar

Call 1997

James Fieldsend

Call 1997

Nicola Muir

Call 1998

Marc Glover

Call 1999

Adrian Carr

Call 1999

Carl Fain

Call 2001

Tim Hammond

Call 2003

Sam Madge-Wyld

Call 2008

Richard Alford

Call 2011

Richard Granby

Call 2012

Katie Gray

Call 2013

James Castle

Call 2015